Life Changes — Make it Yours!

Hey everyone,
I woke up today excited for my morning walk. I took my usual route so that I would end up at my favourite morning check point  — two small bodies of water surrounded by (mostly) trees. Screen shot 2013-05-31 at 11.51.02 AM I found this place a few years back and hadn’t seen it for quite some time until recently and it became a morning staple during my walks.
This morning I came down the trail and I was in awe, the storm we had the other day had flooded it. The usual rock path was submerged underwater and I was stunned. 
This familiar place that I had visited nearly every morning had changed.
As I walked away I reflected on what I had seen and how it represented a topic that came up recently, making life changes. We all face them, small changes day to day, bigger changes month to month, massive changes year to year and some of these changes life throws at us while the others we decide on.
I’ve noticed lately that many of the people around me, including myself are going through pretty big life changes, deciding what to do once they graduate, deciding whether to go back to school, deciding if they want to continue on their chosen path or pave a new one. Its scary, its stressful and its unknown, but its also so exciting!
BLl914zCEAAIIw0

I’ve posted numerous posts that voice my opinion on taking control of your own life. Its your life, you’re living it, at the end of the day you’re the one that gets to live with the decisions, so why not make the ones that make you happy! My point is, you can’t run, you can’t hide, life will always catch up to you and probably surpass you, so its important to make the changes that make you the happiest person that you can be! And this is important when it comes to big, even little, changes in your life, especially when you’re in control of the changes coming your way.

My point is its all what you make it. Seriously, even if life throws you a change, its up to you to make it a productive one that works for you. You didn’t get that job you wanted? There is something out there that is even better and more exciting for you. You didn’t get accepted into the program you wanted? There are endless possibilities staring you in the face, but its up to you to really look at them. Find what you like to do–scratch that, find out what you love to do and do it! Right now! And if you don’t know what it is you want to do, then just start small. Whats your favourite kind of morning look like, how about afternoon, and evening? Throw in some hobbies and practices that you like and after a while you’ll be happier and more passionate about life. Its my experience that the happier and more passionate you are, the more fun, exciting opportunities come your way. So start being happy today! Start making those changes for you.

And sometimes, like my favourite morning check point, its just about changing something you always thought would stay the same. Surprise yourself!

Happy walking,
Tori J Wilcox

2 thoughts on “Life Changes — Make it Yours!

Leave a Reply

